THIS PAGE IS OBSOLETE, NEW PROJECT HERE!

Final Project Concept Update and Design Files

During week 2, I decided to change my project to one that is more in sync with the farm's needs.

I asked myself what I needed right now for the farm that I couldn't just obtain.

Chickens!

For reasons I believe are related to the weather here in my region, there were no chicks available to buy at the local farmers' cooperative, so I decided I would make a chicken incubator.


Design Files of My New Proposal


SolidWorks design view of the incubator

Video Render and Link of My Possible Final Project Proposal Page

Egg Incubator

Details of My Final Project

SolidWorks has been my software of choice for the last few years when it comes to mechanical design. I am very happy with it, as it's powerful and allows quite complex assemblies while being intuitive enough for me to learn by using it.

Exploded view of the incubator Exploded View of the Incubator

Design Files of the Final Project Proposal

Designed Parts

Downloaded Parts


The Egg (Where It All Starts)

  1. In order to design my final project, I started by designing an egg.
  2. I took a picture of a real egg with the caliper, for reference later in SolidWorks.

    Egg with caliper for reference

  3. To use this feature, start a new sketch, then in the menu go to: Tools > Sketch Tools > Sketch Picture.

    SolidWorks sketch picture tool

  4. After inserting the picture, scale it using the caliper as a reference, as well as the blue ruler provided by SolidWorks.

    Scaling the picture in SolidWorks

  5. With the picture calibrated to scale, it's time to sketch around it. For this, I used the spline tool and closed the spline with a construction line.

    Sketching with spline tool in SolidWorks

  6. Exit the sketch and click on Revolved Boss/Base.

    Revolved Boss/Base in SolidWorks

  7. If the axis of rotation is not selected automatically, select the line that is in the center of the future egg. Press the green check mark.

    Selecting axis of rotation in SolidWorks

  8. Voilà, the virtual egg is made!

    Completed virtual egg in SolidWorks


Bottom Case

Because of the number of steps, I will only detail the most important ones, naming the type of operation at the beginning and then some of the steps to accomplish it.

  1. I started by sketching 2 hexagons and extruding them.

    Hexagon sketch in SolidWorks

  2. Converting a contour of another object in an assembly:
    1. With the fan already mated to the sides of the case, I selected the outside contour of the fan and converted it, creating a sketch.
    2. Next, I cut the space for the fan.

      Fan space cut in SolidWorks

  3. Hole Wizard:
    1. In the hole type, I selected a simple hole, as I will tap the thread later.
    2. In the standard, I selected ISO, as it contains the metric screws.
    3. In the type of drill, I selected tap drill, as this gives the right hole size to open a thread later with a manual tap.
    4. Here I selected the screw size, M3.
    5. Next, I clicked on Positions to determine where the holes will be located.

      Hole Wizard in SolidWorks

  4. Position of the screw holes:
    1. The sketch point is normally already selected, unless you had to create construction lines or other operations.
    2. Next, I centered each point on the locations where the fan will receive the screws. Last, confirm and close the operation, and the result will be holes created in the surface previously selected.

      Positioning screw holes in SolidWorks

  5. Here is the result of the previous operation, the holes in place.

    Resulting screw holes in SolidWorks

  6. Cavity: this operation is useful as it saves time designing many features that, in this example, are simply inherited from the selected object or body:
    1. Simply start by either searching for "cavity" in the search menu or finding it in the "Insert" > "Features" menu. After the feature is started, I selected the part I wanted to inherit the features from, creating a kind of negative stamp in my part.
    2. Then simply confirm the operation.

      Cavity operation in SolidWorks

  7. Here you see the part with the cavity already created.

    Part with cavity in SolidWorks

  8. Here you see the cavity.

    Cavity view in SolidWorks


The Crate

  1. The crate was a bit complex to create.

    Crate design in SolidWorks

  2. I started by extruding a cylinder.

    Extruded cylinder in SolidWorks

  3. Next, I cut it in half by sketching a half circle on one of its faces.

    Half circle cut in SolidWorks

  4. This time I used the Combine feature instead of Cavity.
    1. The main body should already be selected by default.
    2. Next, I selected the part I wanted to combine.
    3. In order to create a footprint, I selected the Subtract operation.
    4. Last, click the confirmation check mark to finish the Combine feature.

      Combine feature in SolidWorks

  5. Linear Pattern is a feature used to replicate a feature in various directions, so it saves time instead of designing the same feature again and again:
    1. I started by selecting the feature to pattern.
    2. Then I selected the distance between the copies.
    3. Then I set it to replicate 3 times.
    4. Next, I confirmed.

      Linear pattern in SolidWorks

  6. Here I used the Shell feature, as I wanted to keep the contours but I wanted the interior to become empty. This was done simply by specifying the thickness, in my case 3 mm, and I did not have to select the body, as it was already selected before starting the feature.

    Shell feature in SolidWorks

  7. Now, in order to expose the previous feature, I cut the lower shell by sketching around the lower shell of the body.

    Cutting lower shell in SolidWorks

  8. This was a simple cut feature with a complex sketch. The sketch was created by offsetting the outer contour inwards, drawing lines towards the center, and finally trimming all the lines in order to form closed perimeters that were used to cut the shape.

    Complex sketch cut in SolidWorks

  9. The cut feature is trivial and was done simply by selecting the previous sketch and cutting it Through All.

    Trivial cut feature in SolidWorks

  10. This was again a linear pattern, done in the same way as the previous one.

    Second linear pattern in SolidWorks

  11. I then used an extruded cut to remove the rest of the wall from what was once the shell of the half cylinder.

    Extruded cut in SolidWorks

  12. Last, I extruded cylinders in between each basket to work as a shaft.

    Extruded cylinders in SolidWorks

  13. Fillet was used everywhere in this part. Here, as an example, the shaft being reinforced with the fillet operation.

    Fillet operation in SolidWorks

  14. The final result of the crate.

    Final crate design in SolidWorks