Computer-aided Design


Individual assignment

Learning outcomes:

Have you:


Tools used


Software Used


Design files


Video render and link of my possible final project

Egg Incubator

Introduction

In this assignment, I will review three software tools: Inkscape, SolidWorks, and Fusion 360. Then, I will model a possible final project with SolidWorks.


Inkscape

I have used Inkscape extensively in the past, especially with a diode laser cutter add-on, but not so much recently.

My most used feature of Inkscape was its ability to transform a raster image into a vector. Let's see how it works.

Initially, I go to File -> Document properties and change the paper size. It will just serve as a size reference for me, as it's possible to edit outside of these boundaries. In my case, I chose A4 Landscape mode.

Inkscape Document Properties

Next, I import the file with Ctrl+I or by clicking on File -> Import, then choose the file I want to import and open it.

Inkscape Import File

Next, this dialog opens, and I click OK.

Inkscape Import Dialog

The image is now open. One can then click on the Layers area and the plus sign to add a layer. That's useful to split the work into different layers to organize the editing of the file. I ended up doing it later, after the next steps.

Inkscape Layers

Next, I select Path -> Trace Bitmap (or Shift+Alt+B).

Inkscape Trace Bitmap

This feature will trace the outlines of the raster image and convert it to a vector image. I then select Edge detection and a threshold (1), then Smooth, remove background, and Live Preview. Clicking on Live Preview gives an idea of how the settings will affect the conversion, so it can be useful. Finally, I click OK.

Inkscape Edge Detection

As I mentioned earlier, I can now create layers and name them. Next, I move the original drawing to one of the layers.

Inkscape Layer Management

Now I turn off the original raster image by clicking on the eye symbol next to the vector name. That will allow me to only see the vector. Next, I will focus on the old car.

Inkscape Vector Focus

Here we can see the raster image on the left and the vector image on the right side.

Inkscape Raster vs Vector

I tried to select only the car and then invert the selection, but that did not work; maybe it's too big a file. So I proceeded to select the vectors and delete them. This makes the image less heavy and the computer less slow.

Inkscape Vector Selection

Here I show how I select the nodes and then delete them. In number 3, I show where I will focus next.

Inkscape Node Editing

Here I show the node editing. By moving the center of the node or the lever, I can change the shape of the image.

Inkscape Node Manipulation

That manipulation allowed me to extract the car from the raster image. Now I can use the laser cutter or another digital manufacturing machine to follow the path of the vector, but that's for another week.


Fusion 360

In my review of Fusion 360, I will go through the process of creating two solids. One will match the other, based on the grain contour of an oak door frame piece I need to repair.

  1. I started by taking a picture of the damage on the oak door frame I want to try fixing.

    Ruler in the photo will be used in the following stepsThe ruler in the photo will be used in the following steps.

  2. When Fusion starts, the work area opens automatically, and one can just start designing.

    Fusion 360 Work Area

  3. The repair I am attempting is based on the grain geometry of the oak. For that reason, I will first insert the picture I took before into the Fusion environment. The following steps are going to create a 2D sketch environment and let one insert a picture on it for future reverse engineering:
    • Click on Insert
    • then click on Attached Canvas

    Fusion 360 Insert Canvas

  4. Now one needs to select a plane. The image, or canvas as Fusion calls it, will then be inserted on that plane.
    • Directly click on the desired plane. In case one has previously created a solid, a face can be selected as well.

    Fusion 360 Select Plane

  5. With the plane selected, it's time to find the image.
    • In the opened dialog, click on Select Image.
    • A file explorer will open, allowing you to find the desired file; select it.
    • Press Open.

    Fusion 360 Select Image

  6. This frame shows the image inserted on the XY plane.

    Fusion 360 Image Inserted

  7. Now it's time to scale the image.
    • Click on Calibrate.

    Fusion 360 Calibrate Image

  8. Now, using the ruler as a reference and as accurately as possible, select two points and insert the known measure.
    • Click on the first point.
    • Click on the second point.
    • Using the ruler in the photo as a guide, type the known measurement.

    Fusion 360 Calibrate Measurement

  9. Now, with the image aligned and scaled, it's time to sketch a 2D design.
    • Click on Sketch.
    • Click on the image.
    • Following the grain in the image, draw a pattern.

    Fusion 360 Sketch Pattern

  10. Basically, following the pattern of the grain, I draw lines to form a geometry.

    Fusion 360 Grain Pattern

  11. That's the geometry with sharp corners.

    Fusion 360 Sharp Corners

  12. In order to remove the sharp corners, as they can't be milled, one can use the Fillet tool.
    • In the Sketch drop-down menu, select Fillet.
    • Select the corners to be filleted.
    • Add a dimension. In my case, I typed 1.5mm, as this is the radius of the tool I will use to mill the wood damage.

    Fusion 360 Fillet Tool

    Fusion 360 Fillet Application

    Fusion 360 Fillet Result

  13. The final 2D sketch is done and ready for virtual extrusion.

    Fusion 360 Final Sketch

  14. The process of virtual extrusion, in short, is creating a solid 3D object from a 2D sketch:
    • Click on the Extrude icon on top of Create.
    • Select the 2D sketch.
    • Add a dimension.

    Fusion 360 Extrude Process

    Fusion 360 Extrude Selection

    Fusion 360 Extrude Dimension

    Fusion 360 Extrude Result

  15. Based on the solid (positive), one is ready to make the negative part.

    Fusion 360 Negative Part

  16. In my case, I wanted to have a negative and a positive of the shape so I can mill the pocket and the repair piece. So, the next steps:
    • Select the underside.
    • Click on Create Sketch.

    Fusion 360 Create Sketch

  17. With the new sketch created, I drew a square around it in preparation for the next step.

    Fusion 360 Sketch Square

  18. Selecting the new sketch and following the same steps as when making the last solid, I could extrude the base for milling the pocket.

    Fusion 360 Extrude Base

  19. That's what both parts look like.

    Fusion 360 Final Parts


The review of Solidworks 2019 and my Final Project.

Solidworks has been my software of choice for the last few years when it comes to mechanical design. I am very happy with it, as it's powerful and allows quite complex assemblies while being intuitive enough for me to learn it by using it.

Image of my possible final projectImage of my possible final project

Exploded View of Incubator Exploded View of Incubator

Design files of final project proposal

Designed Parts

  1. Egg
  2. Case (top)
  3. Case (bottom)
  4. Egg Crate
  5. Heat Element
  6. Water

Downloaded Parts

  1. Fan Designed by Xgentec Jason at GrabCAD
  2. Servo Motor Designed by Akshaya Simha at GrabCAD
  3. Ball Bearing Designed by Hendricks at GrabCAD
  4. OLED Display Designed by thmjpr at GrabCAD
  5. Humidity Sensor Designed by Nonthanut Hoku at GrabCAD

1. The egg (where it all starts)

Solidworks Egg Design

  1. In order to design my final project, I started by designing an egg.
  2. I took a picture of a real egg with the caliper for reference later in Solidworks.

    Egg with Caliper

  3. To use the feature, start a new sketch, then in the menu go to: Tools > Sketch Tools > Sketch Picture.

    Solidworks Sketch Picture

  4. After inserting the picture, scale it using the caliper reference as well as the blue ruler provided by Solidworks.

    Solidworks Scale Picture

  5. With the picture calibrated to scale, it's time to sketch around it. For this, I used the spline tool and closed the spline with a construction line.

    Solidworks Spline Tool

  6. Leave the Sketch and click on Revolved Boss/Base.

    Solidworks Revolved Boss/Base

  7. If the axis of rotation is not selected automatically, select the line that is in the center of the future egg. Press the green check mark.

    Solidworks Axis of Rotation

  8. Voilà, the virtual egg is made!

    Solidworks Virtual Egg


3. Bottom Case

Because of the number of steps, I will only detail the most important ones, specifying the type of operation at the beginning and then some of the steps to accomplish it.

  1. I started by sketching two hexagons and extruding them.

    Solidworks Hexagon Sketch

  2. Converting a contour of another object in an assembly:
    1. With the fan already mated with the sides of the case, I selected the outside contour of the fan and converted it, creating a sketch.
    2. Next, I cut the space for the fan.

    Solidworks Fan Space

  3. Screw wizard
    1. In the type of hole, I selected a simple hole, as I will tap the thread later.
    2. In the standard, I selected ISO, as it contains metric screws.
    3. In the type of drill, I selected tap drill, as this will give the right size to use a manual tap to cut a thread later.
    4. Here I selected the screw size, M3.
    5. Next, I clicked on position to determine where the holes will be located.

    Solidworks Screw Wizard

  4. Position of screw holes:
    1. The point sketch is normally selected already, unless you had to create construction lines or do other operations.
    2. Next, I centered each point on the locations where the fan will receive the screws. Lastly, confirm and close the operation, and the result will be holes created in the surface previously selected.

    Solidworks Screw Holes

  5. Here is the result of the previous operation, the holes in place.

    Solidworks Holes Result

  6. Cavity: this operation is useful, as it will save time designing many features that, in this example, will simply be inherited from the selected object or body:
    1. Simply start by either searching for "cavity" in the search menu or finding it in the "Insert" > "Features" menu. After the feature is started, I selected the part I wanted to inherit the features from, creating a kind of negative stamp in my part.
    2. Then simply confirm the operation.

    Solidworks Cavity Feature

  7. Here you see the part with the cavity already created.

    Solidworks Cavity Created

  8. Here you see the cavity.

    Solidworks Cavity View


4. The crate

  1. The crate was a bit complex to create.

    Solidworks Crate Design

  2. I started by extruding a cylinder.

    Solidworks Cylinder Extrusion

  3. Next, I cut it in half by sketching a half circle on one of its faces.

    Solidworks Half Circle Cut

  4. This time, I used the combine feature instead of cavity.
    1. The main body should already be selected by default.
    2. Next, I selected the part I wanted to combine.
    3. In order to create a footprint, I selected the subtract operation.
    4. Lastly, select the confirmation check mark to finish the combine feature.

    Solidworks Combine Feature

  5. Linear Pattern is a feature used to replicate a feature in various directions, so it saves time instead of designing the same feature again and again:
    1. I started by selecting the pattern.
    2. Then I selected the distance between the patterns.
    3. Then I set it to replicate three times.
    4. Next, I confirm.

    Solidworks Linear Pattern

  6. Here I used the shell feature, as I wanted to keep the contours but wanted the interior to become empty. This was done simply by specifying the thickness, in my case 3mm, and I did not have to select the body, as it was already selected before starting the feature.

    Solidworks Shell Feature

  7. Now, in order to expose the previous feature, I cut the lower shell by sketching around the lower shell of the body.

    Solidworks Lower Shell Cut

  8. This was a simple cut feature with a complex sketch. The sketch was created by offsetting the outer contour inwards, drawing lines towards the center, and lastly trimming all the lines in order to form closed perimeters that were used to cut the shape.

    Solidworks Complex Sketch

  9. The cut feature is trivial and was done simply by selecting the previous sketch and cutting it through all.

    Solidworks Cut Feature

  10. This was again a linear pattern, done in the same way as the previous one.

    Solidworks Linear Pattern Again

  11. I then used an extruded cut to remove the rest of the wall from the shelled half cylinder.

    Solidworks Extrude Cut

  12. Lastly, I extruded cylinders in between each basket to work as a shaft.

    Solidworks Extrude Cylinders

  13. Fillet was used everywhere in this part. Here I show the shaft being reinforced with the fillet operation.

    Solidworks Fillet Operation

  14. The final result of the crate.

    Solidworks Final Crate


Extra Credits - Milling stuff

Remember the Fusion360 review? Well, I decided to post photos of only the final result with the mill. I know CNC milling is not this week, but I couldn't resist. So it's not proper documentation, just some hero photos of the final result.


Solidworks has been my 3D design software of choice for some time. I learned to use it with online videos and tutorials.

Solidworks Fusion360 Inkscape
3D Design
yes yes
no
2D Design yes yes yes
CAM yes yes 2D only, yes with plugin
Parametric yes yes yes
Run locally yes cloud-based yes
Price $$$$ $ free
Windows yes yes yes
MacOS no yes yes
Assembly-driven yes no no
Large assemblies yes has trouble no
Simulation solutions depends on package beginner plug-ins no
Mesh modeling not intuitive yes no
       
       

← (Feb 05) Project Management · all weeks · Computer-controlled Cutting (Feb 19) →